The Chase

The Chase

Fear chases me like hungry, slathering hounds–biting and nipping at my heels
while I chase the fears ahead of me wondering, grasping at its sharp, wispy robes

we make a cosmic tragedy,my fears and me
we make the Gods laugh, my fears and me

I spread wings to hasten my speed while hounds nip at my heels
I make futile grasps to unmask my desires–fears
sometimes they are the same thing

a cosmic tragedy, my fears and me
the Gods laugh at my fears and me

I spread my wings farther, fly faster
I grab at the shadowy ghost in front of me
I cut my fingers and they bleed spreading droplets fast and stinging past my face
a tasty treat for the hounds at my heels and I swear they laugh at me

a cosmic tragedy, my fears and me
Yes, the Gods are laughing at my me

I nurse my wounded hands, my wounded heart and my wounded pride
I turn left and face what is behind me
my fears snarl and bark at me
I am not afraid; its the devil I know

My fears laugh at me

Far above my head my unknown taunts me
the hunt is on for the devil I don’t know–draped in wispy, black, sharp robes

We make a cosmic tragedy, my fears and me
we make the Gods laugh, my fears and me

Leave a Reply

