Haunted Shadow

Haunted Shadow

I think I found you…
You were an old memory; a faded thing of the past.
You were unrecognizable at first except for a few haunted whisperings.
So faint at first but, nagging none the less. The whispers turned to shouts when you realized I was listening.
I didn’t want to listen.

The shouts turned to desperate claws—I wonder what woke you up?
Those claws bit deep.
The scars re-opening to fresh wounds.
Didn’t I you bury deep enough?

You clawed to the surface and came to light
(I thought the darkest always feared the light?)
You brought fresh tears/old tears–hot tears, deep tears. I was drowning.

Those claws bit deep–I had to cry.

You were unrecognizable at first
(denial will warp and twist any reality).

The shouts turned to whispers.
The whispers to shouts. I am still listening.
And you are still my haunted shadow.

Leave a Reply

